Pairings in Paso: Venteux Vineyards Estate Syrah with Spicy Chipotle Jam

by Tina Swithin

I refuse to brag about the fact that it was 68 degrees today in Paso Robles (it’s January!).  Maybe I am bragging just a bit but honestly, can you blame me?  What is one to do when faced with spectacular weather in the dead of winter?  I know what I do: wine tasting, of course!  I took a jaunt down the road to Templeton because I’ve been wanting to try out a few wineries that are new to me.

I had the pleasure of visiting Venteux Vineyards and while I was there, I picked up a bottle of their fabulous 2007 Estate Syrah.  Their beautiful, modern-rustic tasting room is located on Las Tablas Road in Templeton and you will probably find me there quite often after today’s visit.  Bobbi Stelzle, co-owner of Venteux Vineyards was kind enough to share a favorite family recipe with me.  “We have a very simple, but great recipe that works well with so many things.  We use it for wine & cheese in the afternoons and we’ve also used it for Hospice du Rhone weekend with lamb hash and rustic toast for brunch”, explains Bobbi.  She had me at “wine and cheese”.  After a quick stop at Trader Joes, I was excited to get home and put it to the test.

Venteux Vineyards Spicy Chipotle Syrah Jam

Over medium heat simmer the following:
½ bottle Venteux Vineyards 2007 Estate Syrah (you get to drink the rest: score!)
(1) jar Trader Joe’s Blackberry Preserves
(1) jar Trader Joe’s Raspberry Preserves
Use pureed chipotle chilis (from a can) to taste.  I used about a 1/4 cup (be careful as a little goes a long way!)

Simmer until you have the consistency that you prefer.  Pour it into a jar and it will keep in the refrigerator for weeks.

Tasting Notes for Venteux Vineyards 2007 Estate Syrah
From the estate dry-farmed and head-trained vineyard, the Syrah is hand harvested from 3 different climatic zones on a mere 3 acres of rolling hillside. This terroir-driven wine exhibits red raspberry, soft white pepper and cinnamon bark on the palate. It is medium bodied with an elegant finish.

Tina Swithin is the PR Coordinator and Blog Manager for TravelPaso.com where she writes Pairings in Paso and other blog-a-licious Paso Robles articles.  Follow the Paso Robles Insider to get the inside scoop on all the haps in Paso Robles Wine Country.

Leave a Reply

